Thursday, 23 October 2014 20:00
beggarly

Google Webmaster Priority Warning

Report Xmap bugs on this forum.

Google Webmaster Priority Warning

Postby Dozza » Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:37 pm

I've installed xMap on a Joomla 1 site successfully and submitted to Google via Webmaster.

One week on and I've had a Warning from Google that "All the URLs in your Sitemap are set to the same priority (not the default priority). Priority indicates the importance of a particular URL relative to other URLs on your site, and doesn't impact your site's performance in search results. If all URLs have the same priority, Google can't tell which are more important."

I can't see a way using the plug to set different priorities for items WITHIN a menu - is there something I'm missing and how do others get round this problem?

I've just noticed that the installed extension 'Content Plugin 1.0.1' allows some priority tweaking. Is this the solution? :roll:
Dozza
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:29 pm

Re: Google Webmaster Priority Warning

Postby guilleva » Wed Nov 19, 2008 6:49 pm

All you can do with Xmap is specify different priorities for content, sections and categories, but not for each content or each section. To avoid that warning, just leave the default priority (5) for every menu item and change only the menu item you think is more important for you.
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Google Webmaster Priority Warning

Postby Dozza » Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:54 pm

I take it I do this using the content plugin extension? Any time I try to make an alteration to the standard settings, I get a javascript alert with my site url and the word 'undefined'. So I can't amke any changes. Any ideas to solve this?? I'm getting this error on both Firefox 3.05 and Safari 3.2.1 on Mac OSX
Dozza
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:29 pm

Re: Google Webmaster Priority Warning

Postby Dozza » Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:18 pm

...but it works and saves OK using Opera 9.63 on MacOSX !!!

Let's see if Google like's the map now I've implemented your suggestions.
Dozza
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:29 pm


Return to Bugs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

cron