Friday, 01 August 2014 16:05
beggarly

Google News sitemap, blank map

Report Xmap bugs on this forum.

Google News sitemap, blank map

Postby Greg » Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:37 pm

Hello,

I've test the Google News sitemap link, but actually it return only the schema location without any links.

Is this normal ?

I suppose it is because of the beta status ?
Joomla 1.5.22 / 2.5.7 | VM 2.0.12b | Xmap 1.2.14 / 2.3.0 | PHP5.3.17
Greg
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:42 pm

Re: Google News sitemap, blank map

Postby guilleva » Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:56 pm

Hi, It could be a bug or not! Let's check a few things ;)

It's supposed to show only the links to articles created in the last 3 days, go to the backend of Xmap and select Extensions->Content Extension->Options

Then look for the setting Max number of days and set it to 3.

The refresh your sitemap. If you are using the cache feature, you should clean your cache first.
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Google News sitemap, blank map

Postby Greg » Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:23 pm

Ok, thanks for reply

So you're talking about the "Max. Article's Age in days" parameter, I bet
On the content plugin options, right ?

Each time I want to set a number, when I save, I got a popup "undefined".
And when I go back to the options later, the parameter is set back to "0"

Anyway, each time I've clean the cache, the news sitemap is still blank
Joomla 1.5.22 / 2.5.7 | VM 2.0.12b | Xmap 1.2.14 / 2.3.0 | PHP5.3.17
Greg
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:42 pm

Re: Google News sitemap, blank map

Postby guilleva » Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:25 pm

Hi, yes, that's right, that's the option I was talking about :D !
Which browser are you using? can you try to change that option with another browser?
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Google News sitemap, blank map

Postby Greg » Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:48 pm

Strange, the error popup was with Firefox, but now it's ok....

With IE8, the options for the content plugin simply don't want to load, I must use the compatibility mode of IE then it's ok.

But, whatever I do, the news sitemap only show the schema location
Joomla 1.5.22 / 2.5.7 | VM 2.0.12b | Xmap 1.2.14 / 2.3.0 | PHP5.3.17
Greg
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:42 pm

Re: Google News sitemap, blank map

Postby Greg » Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:00 pm

If the parameter is set to "0", normally if I make a news it should appear in the news sitemap ?

I'll make a news soon, and see what append...
Joomla 1.5.22 / 2.5.7 | VM 2.0.12b | Xmap 1.2.14 / 2.3.0 | PHP5.3.17
Greg
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:42 pm

Re: Google News sitemap, blank map

Postby Greg » Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:37 pm

Apparently the "Max. Article's Age in days" parameter of the content plugin affect both sitemaps (the standard site sitemap and the news sitemap)
Shouldn't we have distinct parameters ?

I don't want to to have my standard site sitemap cropped when I set the "Max. Article's Age in days" parameter to have my News Sitemap.

thanks
Joomla 1.5.22 / 2.5.7 | VM 2.0.12b | Xmap 1.2.14 / 2.3.0 | PHP5.3.17
Greg
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:42 pm

Re: Google News sitemap, blank map

Postby guilleva » Wed Dec 09, 2009 4:56 pm

Hi, yes, you are right, but you can set it to something like 1000 and the Google News will ignore it and use the max. number of days allowed by Google News. This param will only be used if it's set to a number < 3

Currently, there is bug that if it's set to 0 it won't include any article in the news sitemap. So, a high value is recommended.
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Google News sitemap, blank map

Postby Greg » Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:52 pm

Ok, thanks.

I think I will wait for your update...
As I've seen too that you plan to include the new google news standard sitemap
Joomla 1.5.22 / 2.5.7 | VM 2.0.12b | Xmap 1.2.14 / 2.3.0 | PHP5.3.17
Greg
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:42 pm


Return to Bugs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests

cron