Friday, 19 September 2014 23:58
beggarly

javascript void(0) duplicate urls

Report Xmap bugs on this forum.

javascript void(0) duplicate urls

Postby ronnieg » Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:34 pm

XMAP 1.2.1 on Joomla 1.15.12

In order to get around issues with menu dividers not showing "hints" for child items, and to resolve issues with many themes not displaying menu dividers properly, I have had to resort to changing all menu dividers to external links, with the link urls being: javascript void(0). XMAP is putting these in the XML sitemap, and Google is rejecting the sitemap due to duplicate urls. I tried to work-around by excluding the items individually in XMAP, but that only caused all of the child items of the excluded links to also be excluded. So, it's a no-win situation.

There are other issues of duplicate urls in the xml sitemap, apparently caused by menu items that are menulinks. Those I had to manually exclude, though I really shouldn't have to, and that causes an issue that those items will also not be in the html sitemap, and they should be.

it seems to me that when XMAP encounters javascript void(0) in the url, or menu items that are menulinks, it should automatically exclude them from the XML sitemal, but not their child items, but include them in the html sitemap, with javascript void(0) being styles the same as separators, and menulinks including the link to their target url, even though that may be a duplicate link, since the html sitemap is more for the urer's benefit anyway.
Last edited by ronnieg on Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:19 pm, edited 5 times in total.
ronnieg
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:16 pm

Re: javascript void(0) duplicate urls

Postby ronnieg » Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:44 pm

2nd issue addressed in edited version of above.
ronnieg
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:16 pm

Re: javascript void(0) duplicate urls

Postby myrtlee » Sun May 08, 2011 5:47 am

How to make a Javascript layout for Friendster Profile? Does anyone know how? I've been searching for a site that will help me to make a Javascript layout but I can't find even one. Any answers will be appreciated. Thanks.
myrtlee
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 5:37 am


Return to Bugs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest