Friday, 24 October 2014 23:10
beggarly

Install problem with v1.2.4

Report Xmap bugs on this forum.

Install problem with v1.2.4

Postby doorknob » Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:18 pm

I installed v 1.2.4 over the top of v1.2.2, expecting the settings to be preserved (Joomla has supported this since J1.5.5). I previously had 3 plugins installed. During the installation process I got 3 'rename failed' errors. After installation, I had more plugins than I ever thought I needed! Unfortunately, the three that had been previously installed were not updated.

I ended up uninstalling all the plugins and reinstalling. I still had to uninstall and reinstall the VirtueMart plugin because you've bundled the old version.

Specific re-install instruction would have been useful. It seems that to retain the xmap settings, the process is
1 record plugin settings manually
2 uninstall all plugins but not the xmap component
3 install the new version of xmap over the top of the old version.
4 check plugin versions and uninstall and download/reinstall updated versions where necessary.
5 reapply plugin settings

Regards
Phil
doorknob
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:30 pm

Re: Install problem with v1.2.4

Postby guilleva » Sat Dec 12, 2009 6:58 pm

Hi Phil, thanks for reporting me that. I'm going to check at the installation problems.

Could you please tell me which is the new version of VM plugin? Problably I forgot to update it in the svn repository!


Again, thanks!

Guillermo
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Install problem with v1.2.4

Postby doorknob » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:42 am

Guillermo,

Could you please tell me which is the new version of VM plugin?


Version 1.1.1 is bundled with xmap 1.2.4 but version 1.1.2 is available as a download. It's possible that the .php file is updated but not the .xml file, I didn't check before uninstalling it.

Having now evaluated version 1.1.2, I found that two issues that I had with the previous version still exist in the new version.

The first issue concerns menu items that call the virtuemart browse page but don't include a value for category_id. These should not append products to the node but actually add every category and product in the whole database. I made a fix for that by checking for a non-zero category.

The second issue concerns the management of the Itemid value. Many pages in VM don't have their own corresponding menu item (usually including all product items and often the categories too). For those pages, VM uses the value of Itemid that corresponds to its own 'home' page. For Xmap urls to match those generated by VM, the same rule need to be applied. I found that one effect of the way version 1.1.2 generates the Itemid value was causing sh404sef to generate browse page urls instead of product detail pages for each individual product (none of my products have their own menu items).

I have attached my updated version of the VM plugin for you to see.
Regards
Phil
Attachments
xmap_com_virtuemart-1.1.2a-J15_2009-12-13.zip
(3.09 KiB) Downloaded 449 times
doorknob
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:30 pm

Re: Install problem with v1.2.4

Postby guilleva » Sun Dec 13, 2009 7:13 pm

Hi Phil, thanks for your help! It's very appreciated!

I have tested it and I found that it works much better than my version, but in some cases it won't take the correct Itemid for the cases where you create a menu item pointing to a specific category. I have introduced the use of the function $sess->url in the plug-in. Please try it to see if you don't see any problem with it!

Thanks again.
Attachments
com_virtuemart.zip
(3.04 KiB) Downloaded 411 times
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Install problem with v1.2.4

Postby doorknob » Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:09 am

Guillermo,
Your new version of the VM plugin works well on my test site. Thanks for that.

Regarding $sess->url(). Because you need to track many packages, you may not be aware that the way this function works changed recently. The old version required Itemid to be included in the input string and the new version requires that it not be included because it adds it to the url without checking whether it is already included on th input string. That means that it is now possible for the output url to contain Itemid twice (with the same or different values). I've looked at your code and it seems to be compatible with the current version. With Xmap installed in a wide base, you might find that users with a version of VM that is not up to date might have compatibility problems in that area.
Regards
Phil

btw the version number in the xml file has reverted to 1.1.1
doorknob
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:30 pm

Re: Install problem with v1.2.4

Postby guilleva » Mon Dec 14, 2009 2:09 am

Hi Phil, thank you very much for your advice.

Do you know what's the latest version of VM that require the Itemid to be included in the input string?

I will update the version in the XML to 1.1.3 once we get a nice result ;)
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Install problem with v1.2.4

Postby doorknob » Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:29 pm

Guillermo,

Do you know what's the latest version of VM that require the Itemid to be included in the input string?

I get my updates from the svn but I'm sure that VM 1.1.4 has the patch but VM 1.1.3 did not. VM 1.1.4 was released quite recently (October?) but there was a long delay between 1.1.3 and 1.1.4. It seems to me that it would be reasonable to make no special provision for the old release but to make 1.1.4 a pre-requisite for compatibility with the new version of the plugin.

Regards
Phil
doorknob
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:30 pm

Re: Install problem with v1.2.4

Postby guilleva » Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:06 pm

Hi Phil,

thank you very much, I think I'll leave it as it is right now because Xmap checks if the link comes with the Itemid param and if not, it will append it using the $node->id attribute. So, the old versions should use the Itemid obtained using your method.

Again, thanks!
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica


Return to Bugs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron