Saturday, 02 August 2014 06:34
beggarly

xmap duplicate things, when section is blog

An open forum for opinions and general questions

xmap duplicate things, when section is blog

Postby etrueba03 » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:20 pm

Hi!

I have a section, with 4 categories and 40 articles in there, when you hover the section there is a drop down menu to each category, and if you clic the section you see all the articles as a blog, too...

the thing is that xmap is duplicating everything... I have no idea how to solve it...
etrueba03
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:22 am

Re: xmap duplicate things, when section is blog

Postby guilleva » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:58 pm

Hi, please provide me with the versions of Xmap/Joomla you are using.

Thanks!
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: xmap duplicate things, when section is blog

Postby rrijnders » Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:31 pm

I have the same issue.

Joomla! 1.5.3

XMAP:
Content Plugin: 1.0.1
Virtuemart Plugin: 1.1.0

Virtuemart: 1.1.1

I had my JA_PURITY top menu configured so that the "Section" heading was just a "separator" and the sub items were configured as "articles>>category". In this configuration, when someone moused over the section name, they got the drop-down menu showing the sub-sections fine, but clicking on the section name did nothing (only clicking a "sub" menu item for a category brought up the desired page).

Because of this I decided to change the section menu entries to "articles>>section" so that if someone clicked on the main menu item it would take them to a blog style layout of the sub-categories.

This works for the intended purpose, but now I see that xmap is generating duplicate entries for those sections that also have sub-menu entries for each category in the menu. It appears that xmap is generating site map entries once for the section (and getting all the categories within that section) and then again for the categories that are also sub-menu items.

If I un-publish the category sub-entries from the main menu, then the xmap is correct, but then the drop-down menus are disabled as well.
rrijnders
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 8:45 pm


Return to General



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests