Friday, 25 April 2014 06:16
beggarly

[SOLVED] Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

An open forum for opinions and general questions

[SOLVED] Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

Postby mrealty » Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:12 pm

Hi:

Great component. I'm running Joomla 1.57 in legacy mode. I've downloaded the Xmap for 1.5 legacy and then the Fireboard and Docman plugins. The Xmap seems to work fine. But when I try to install the FB or Docman plugins, they just give a blank page after clicking install. Any ideas why this is happening?

Kind regards.
Last edited by mrealty on Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mrealty
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:10 pm

Re: Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

Postby guilleva » Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:07 pm

Hi, are you getting any error message in your php error log file?

Also, which PHP version are you using?
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

Postby mrealty » Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm

guilleva wrote:Hi, are you getting any error message in your php error log file?

Also, which PHP version are you using?


Hi guilleva:

PHP Error:
[11-Dec-2008 12:35:46] PHP Fatal error: JInstaller::require_once() [<a href='function.require'>function.require</a>]: Failed opening required '/home/mysite/www/libraries/joomla/installer/adapters/xmap_ext.php' (include_path='.:/data/lampp/bin:/data/lampp/bin/PEAR:/opt/lampp/lib/php') in /home/mysite/www/libraries/joomla/installer/installer.php on line 216

I did a recursive search for xmap_ext.php and it does not exist in my file system. Not sure where that file gets created?

phpinfo:
PHP 5.2.5 (cli) (built: Jan 23 2008 14:13:03)
Copyright (c) 1997-2007 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2007 Zend Technologies
with the ionCube PHP Loader v3.1.32, Copyright (c) 2002-2007, by ionCube Ltd., and
with Zend Extension Manager v1.2.2, Copyright (c) 2003-2007, by Zend Technologies
with Zend Optimizer v3.3.3, Copyright (c) 1998-2007, by Zend Technologies


With kind regards.
mrealty
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:10 pm

Re: Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

Postby mrealty » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:08 pm

Crap. Just read the docs. Sorry to bother.

Install extensions for Xmap version 1.0.4 or older

On Xmap 1.0.4 and older, the extensions are installed manually. To install any extension, unzip it first and then place the php file via ftp or any file manager like joomlaXplorer or eXtplorer into the following directory:
"/administrator/component/com_xmap/plugins"
mrealty
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:10 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

Postby guilleva » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:21 pm

Hi, why are you using Xmap 1.0.4 anyway? I strongly recommend Xmap 1.2 if you are using Joomla 1.5
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: [SOLVED] Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

Postby mrealty » Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:36 pm

Hi:

I thought I had to use 1.0.4 if was using Joomla 1.5 in legacy mode?

P.S. After installing the plugins manually, I could not verify that they were in fact installed via the back end. They don't appear as plugins...and I don't have a plugin tab in the Xmap component. Also, deleted the sitemap, created a new (that included fireboard) and it does not show any categories of fireboard. Am I doing something wrong again?
mrealty
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:10 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

Postby guilleva » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:54 pm

Hi, no, 1.2 can be used on Joomla 1.5 even if the legacy plugin is enabled. Please try with that version of Xmap and let me know if you have any problem with it!
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: [SOLVED] Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

Postby mrealty » Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:19 pm

Hi Guillermo:

Did as you said (maybe you could change the notes next to the installation files?) and it works beautifully. The docman and fireboard categories display now. Thanks for the help. This component is a must have for me.

B.T.W. - I just donated. I am thankful for your prompt attention and hope that you continue being a great help when I return for advice!

With kind regards.

Paypal: Dec. 11, 2008 Donation To Guillermo Vargas Completed
Donation Sent (Unique Transaction ID #52A55480WH176301M)

Five Star Joomla review to follow.
mrealty
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:10 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Blank page when installing FB or Docman plugin

Postby guilleva » Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:50 pm

Hi, thanks for your words and donation! I'm glad it's working for you now!

Thanks again,

Guillermo Vargas
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica


Return to General



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest