Sunday, 20 April 2014 00:43
beggarly

can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'error'

An open forum for opinions and general questions

can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'error'

Postby mskiby » Mon Nov 19, 2007 7:47 pm

when i submit the xml sitemap ... i get back an error ...

Unsupported file format

when i click on my own link in the preferences ... i get the message below:

Error loading stylesheet: An XSLT stylesheet does not have an XML mimetype:http://myhealth.ca/components/com_xmap/gss.xsl

can anyone help??? what do i need to do?
Last edited by mskiby on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 65535 times in total.
Reason: 1
mskiby
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re:can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'error'

Postby guilleva » Wed Nov 21, 2007 5:11 pm

Hi mskiby, for some reason your web server isn't returning a valid mimetype for xsl files.

If you enter to the following url you can see how should it looks like!
http://joomla.vargas.co.cr/components/com_xmap/gss.xsl

And yours is:
http://myhealth.ca/components/com_xmap/gss.xsl
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re:can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'err

Postby mskiby » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:12 am

so does anyone know what is causing this?

any suggestions on fixing it?
mskiby
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re:can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'err

Postby guilleva » Wed Nov 28, 2007 7:45 pm

Well, here is a workaround for this:

Edit the file xmap.xml.php and delete the next line:

[code:de6f37e3]
echo '<?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="'. $mosConfig_live_site.'/components/com_xmap/gss.xsl"?>'."
";
[/code:de6f37e3]

With that, you should be able to view your google sitemap with the browser.

You can also try to submit your sitemap to google again.

Regards
Last edited by guilleva on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 65535 times in total.
Reason: 1
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re:can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'err

Postby mskiby » Wed Nov 28, 2007 7:54 pm

i dont see that line in the file you mentioned ...

this is what i have ...

browserNav) )
$node-&gt;browserNav = 0;

if( !isset($node-&gt;priority) )
$node-&gt;priority = $priority;

if( !isset($node-&gt;changefreq) )
$node-&gt;changefreq= $changefreq;


if ( $node-&gt;browserNav != 3 // ignore &quot;no link&quot;
&amp;&amp; !$is_extern // ignore external links
&amp;&amp; !in_array($link, $_xmap_xml_added) ) { // ignore links that have been added already

$count++;
$_xmap_xml_added[] = $link;

$out .= &quot;
&quot;;
$out .= &quot;&quot;. $link .&quot;
&quot;; // http://complete-url
$timestamp = (isset($node-&gt;modified) &amp;&amp; $node-&gt;modified != FALSE &amp;&amp; $node-&gt;modified != -1) ? $node-&gt;modified : time();
$modified = gmdate('Y-m-dTH:i:s', $timestamp); // ISO 8601 yyyy-mm-ddThh:mm:ss.sTZD
$out .= &quot;{$modified}
&quot;;

$out .= &quot;&quot;.$node-&gt;changefreq.&quot;
&quot;; // valid: always, hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, yearly, never
$out .= &quot;&quot;.$node-&gt;priority.&quot;
&quot;; // valid: 0.0 - 1.0

$out .= &quot;
&quot;;
}

if( isset($node-&gt;tree) ) {
$out .= XmapXML::getList( $node-&gt;tree,$priority,$changefreq,$count );
}
}
return $out;
}

/** Print a XML Sitemaps representation of tree */
function printTree( &amp;$xmap,&amp;$sitemap, &amp;$root ) {
global $mosConfig_live_site;
@ob_end_clean();
$GLOBALS['_xmap_xml_added'] = array();
echo ''.&quot;
&quot;;
echo ''.&quot;
&quot;;

echo ''.&quot;
&quot;;

$tmp = array();
$count=0;
foreach( $root as $menu ) { // concatenate all menu-trees
echo XmapXML::getList( $menu-&gt;tree, $menu-&gt;priority,$menu-&gt;changefreq,$count );
}
echo &quot;
&quot;;
return $count;
}

function escapeURL($str) {
static $xTrans;
if (!isset($xTrans)) {
$xTrans = get_html_translation_table(HTML_ENTITIES, ENT_QUOTES);
foreach ($xTrans as $key =&gt; $value)
$xTrans[$key] = '&amp;#'.ord($key).';';
// dont translate the '&amp;' in case it is part of &amp;xxx;
$xTrans[chr(38)] = '&amp;';
}
return preg_replace(&quot;/&amp;(?![A-Za-z]{0,4}w{2,3};|#[0-9]{2,4};)/&quot;,&quot;&amp;&quot; , strtr($str, $xTrans));
}
}
mskiby
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re:can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'err

Postby ranieri71 » Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:30 pm

I am having this exact same problem. Same error, also do not have the referenced information in the php file.
ranieri71
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:28 pm

Re:can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'err

Postby ranieri71 » Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:58 am

my problem turned out it was simply not working in firefox, it worked in IE and submitted to google without any issues.
ranieri71
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:28 pm

Re:can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'err

Postby guilleva » Sun Dec 16, 2007 5:28 pm

Hi, thanks for reporting that, is still anybody having this problem with google?
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re:can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'err

Postby abhinay » Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:25 am

Dear All,

Even i am facing the same problem. I have submitted the link of my sitemap in google webmaster tools, however it is showing me an error. I would like to request you to please help me sort this problem.

Please find the attached image for reference.

Regards,
Abhinay Desai

www.trendzmatter.com


Error.JPG
Error.JPG (17.73 KiB) Viewed 4618 times
Last edited by abhinay on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 65535 times in total.
Reason: 1
abhinay
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:16 am

Re:can't submit to google sitemap ... getting 'err

Postby guilleva » Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:11 pm

Hi, I have noticed almost all of your urls have spaces and some have special chars within them. This isn't a good seo practice. Maybe you can edit your article title aliases replacing the spaces with a dash "-" for example and removing spacial characters like ! and ?

Joomla 1.5 uses the alias to generate the friendly url
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica


Return to General



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests