Monday, 22 December 2014 23:30
beggarly

Do I need a public "Sitemap" link?

An open forum for opinions and general questions

Do I need a public "Sitemap" link?

Postby lancert » Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:16 pm

I see a lot of sites that have a sitemap link in their footer (or wherever). Is this necessary for the search engines or do they check for the sitemap XML automatically?

I've also submitted the sitemap XML file to my Google webmaster page. Does a footer link help Google find the XML better?

What are your thoughts?

Thanks!
Lance Thompson, CEO
Blue Sky Web Worx
Website Design Company, Search Engine Rankings (SEO), Marketing and Advertising
www.BlueSkyWebWorx.com
User avatar
lancert
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:50 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Re: Do I need a public "Sitemap" link?

Postby tokenring » Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:50 am

Hey Lancert,

I would suspect that the HTML version of the sitemap (footer, menu, header, frontend... etc) would only be useful for users of the site. The XML version is for the search engines and crawlers.

Aaron
tokenring
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:49 am

Re: Do I need a public "Sitemap" link?

Postby lancert » Sun Nov 27, 2011 2:56 pm

That's what I suspected. Thanks for your reply.

Does anyone else have any real world testing to see if this actually makes a difference or not?
Lance Thompson, CEO
Blue Sky Web Worx
Website Design Company, Search Engine Rankings (SEO), Marketing and Advertising
www.BlueSkyWebWorx.com
User avatar
lancert
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:50 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Re: Do I need a public "Sitemap" link?

Postby tokenring » Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:41 pm

we are correct with our original thinking. Any link on the front end of the site that is labeled "Sitemap" is definitely the html version. The HTML version is for sure not crawled by google or search engines for indexing, that is what the xml version is used for.

You can go into your WMT account and search the help on that. It will show you there clearly that you were originally right!

:-)

Happy New Year!

tokenring
tokenring
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:49 am

Re: Do I need a public "Sitemap" link?

Postby lancert » Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:33 pm

Thanks Aaron. That's really good to know. I appreciate you taking the time to come back and follow up on this.

Happy New Year to you too!
Lance Thompson, CEO
Blue Sky Web Worx
Website Design Company, Search Engine Rankings (SEO), Marketing and Advertising
www.BlueSkyWebWorx.com
User avatar
lancert
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:50 pm
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Re: Do I need a public "Sitemap" link?

Postby sanjayidhatiya » Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:11 am

hello,

can anyone tell me how can i create and show sitemap in my footer area ???????

thanks in advance ..............
sanjayidhatiya
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:03 am

Re: Do I need a public "Sitemap" link?

Postby tokenring » Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:15 am

you have to use footer links. Then include your sitemap in the footer links. If you want, you can put a menu item in the footer with many links and the sitemap can be one of them.

Aaron
tokenring
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:49 am


Return to General



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron