Saturday, 25 October 2014 20:44
beggarly

Not supportet SiteMap Format

Report Xmap bugs on this forum.

Not supportet SiteMap Format

Postby guenter » Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:07 pm

Hi,

I installed Xmap latest version and all seems to work fine and the sitemap looks nice on my site. But when I install it on Google Webmaster Tools I got the following error after google checked my file.:huh:

Sitemap-Fehler bei http://www.petnews.de/index.php?option=com_xmap&sitemap=10&view=xml&no_html=1

Diese Sitemap weist folgende Fehler auf.
Fehler
Nicht unterstütztes Dateiformat
Anscheinend hat Ihre Sitemap ein Format, das nicht unterstützt wird. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihre Sitemap unseren Sitemap-Richtlinien entspricht, und reichen Sie sie erneut ein. [?] Datum des Fehlers: 27.11.2007

It says the format of the sitemap is not supported???:S

Any Idea what I'm doing wrong?

I tried it on a other site of my and there it is working fine.
I also delete some ids to make the sitemap smaller for testing. But I got the same error from google.

On the error site, I am using sef advance. Could this be the problem? Both sites running on Joomla 1.0.12.

Unfortunelly I can not see an error. Perhaps someone has more experience on this.

Thanks for your help in advcance

regards
guenter
guenter
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:45 pm

Re:Not supportet SiteMap Format

Postby guilleva » Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:16 pm

Hi, I think you don't have xmap installed on your site right now.
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re:Not supportet SiteMap Format

Postby guenter » Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:29 pm

Hello, what do you mean with xmap not installed right now?
It is installed and is preparing a nice and working sitemap but google said the format of the sitemap is not supported. So any idea what I have not installed or wrong done?

Link to Xmap component on my site can only be seen by admins. Do you mean this?

Thanks for your help?
regards
guenter
guenter
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:45 pm

Re:Not supportet SiteMap Format

Postby mskiby » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:16 am

i'm having the same problem, my post is listed in the general section ... i'm hoping that someone will be able to help ...
mskiby
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re:Not supportet SiteMap Format

Postby guilleva » Wed Nov 28, 2007 7:31 pm

guenter wrote:Hello, what do you mean with xmap not installed right now?
It is installed and is preparing a nice and working sitemap but google said the format of the sitemap is not supported. So any idea what I have not installed or wrong done?

Link to Xmap component on my site can only be seen by admins. Do you mean this?

Thanks for your help?
regards
guenter

Well, I can see it now, before of that I got a 404 page not found! Can you please try again with google?
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re:Not supportet SiteMap Format

Postby guenter » Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:39 pm

I have added it again to google.
Will see what google says tomorrow.
regards
guenter
guenter
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:45 pm

Re:Not supportet SiteMap Format

Postby guenter » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:14 am

Hi,
OK now it is accepted by google.
So I have to public the Link to your sitemap component and it is working. Is this right?
I like to split the sitemap and generate several sitemaps for google. My idea was to generate a static site called sitemap and enter all links to my sitemaps. Should this work or how should I do this?

Thanks for your help
PS: Your sitemap is much more faster then joomap
regards
guenter
guenter
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:45 pm

Re:Not supportet SiteMap Format

Postby guilleva » Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:21 pm

Hi, thanks for your feedback,

actually, you don't need to have a link to the component in any menu to get it works. For some reason the sitemap was unreachable at some moment, but it's fine now.

The sitemap or sitemaps should be at the same domain as the pages you want to reference and preferable at the root directory.

You can read a more detailed explanation on [url=http://www.sitemaps.org/protocol.php#location:5dc21702]this link[/url:5dc21702]
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica


Return to Bugs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron