Friday, 18 April 2014 18:25
beggarly

When I choose: Rating Access - Registered

Provides the ajax five-star rating feature to your articles

When I choose: Rating Access - Registered

Postby Cason » Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:23 am

Hi! I have a really important question:

In your plugin I chose "Rating Access - Registered" because I wanted to restrict the voting to one vote per visitor, so the best reliable way is of course to attach each vote to a user and to keep track of his votes.

But now to my surprise I fear that actually the only thing that choosing the option of "Rating Access - Registered" doing is just allowing a vote by logged in users - but it doesn't mean that the same user can't vote twice (after someone else voted from another IP address)...

Am I right in my suspicion about this? Is that the case, that a looged in user can vote twice?

And if so, is there a way to change something in order to allow each registered user only one vote in total?

Please let me know. This is EXTREMELY important for me.

Thank you!

Craig
Cason
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:32 pm

Re: When I choose: Rating Access - Registered

Postby chus » Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:15 am

This plugin uses joomla's core 'jos_content_rating' database table which only stores the last ip and no other record.

You can read more about it at:

http://joomla.vargas.co.cr/documentatio ... -vote-work
User avatar
chus
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:21 am
Location: Costa Rica

Re: When I choose: Rating Access - Registered

Postby arthur_abraham » Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:40 pm

hi chus

extravote is infact one of my favourite extensions ... it's just loveable!

What Cason asks has already been asked in this thread i guess (multiple voting)
http://joomla.vargas.co.cr/forum?view=topic&f=16&t=2356

would it be possible to assist us on how to change the code to store all ip's in database?

I fully understand if you write that you don't have time for that. I would only love to hear your opinion on that and if it is possible.

best regards,

arthur
arthur_abraham
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:32 pm

Re: When I choose: Rating Access - Registered

Postby arthur_abraham » Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:19 pm

hi

i didn't get a reply so i might explain myself more clear. i hope you don't mind.

every answer is cool chus. even if you only wrote 5 words its accepted. but please
try to answer to make it clear if we can rely on a little help from you or if we stand
alone. if you want to consider this as commercial paid, i would be happy to
contribute. just let us know please :roll:

thx for an answer and anyway for all your rocking extensions (xmap, extravote, dinamods) :)
arthur_abraham
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:32 pm

Re: When I choose: Rating Access - Registered

Postby arthur_abraham » Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:49 am

hello?

is there a particular reason why you don't answer?

it should take you less than 1 minute, so please do me this favour.
arthur_abraham
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:32 pm

Re: When I choose: Rating Access - Registered

Postby chus » Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:42 am

Hi!

would it be possible to assist us on how to change the code to store all ip's in database?


I'm sorry but I don't know what's the best way to do that.

Best Regards!
User avatar
chus
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:21 am
Location: Costa Rica

Re: When I choose: Rating Access - Registered

Postby arthur_abraham » Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:19 pm

hi

no problem and thank you for the honest answer.

by scaning the forum i found a thread with a promising approach
by simply creating an additional mysqltable with the rows IP and contentID and then
just inserting the values on every vote and checking this table before every vote:
Code: Select all
$query = 'INSERT INTO log_rating  (IP, content_id )' .
     'VALUES ('  . $db->Quote($userIP) . ',' . (int) $content_id . ')';
$db->setQuery($query);
$db->query();

.....

what do you think about this kind of approach?

atm i am thinking about paying a coder for implementing this lines correctly.
Unfortunately im not very skilled and i have high respect from people like you
coding such awesome extensions. If i will hire a coder, i will be happy to share
the code here for all the community.

take care people
arthur_abraham
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:32 pm


Return to Extra Vote



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests