Friday, 28 November 2014 09:47
beggarly

Error building Admin Menus

Report Xmap bugs on this forum.

Error building Admin Menus

Postby lisarae » Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:30 pm

I received the following error when installing Xmap-2.0-rc1-for-Joomla-1.6 into a Joomla 1.6 website:

Error building Admin Menus

Please advise as to what to do to resolve the issue.
lisarae
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:28 pm

Re: Error building Admin Menus

Postby lisarae » Fri Apr 22, 2011 2:46 am

Can anyone help with this problem???? It has been a week and I really need to get my sitemap up and running.
lisarae
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:28 pm

Re: Error building Admin Menus

Postby ststephen » Sat May 07, 2011 10:30 am

Try this, it worked for me, and just bookmarked it. Go to:

www.yoursite.com/administrator/index.php?option=com_xmap

Hope it helps!
ststephen
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 10:29 am

Re: Error building Admin Menus

Postby ellis » Tue May 10, 2011 6:50 am

I have the same error
ellis
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 6:43 am

Re: Error building Admin Menus

Postby mardulia » Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:57 pm

This works, thanks for the hint, :-), but it's not the optimal solution, of course.

I believe this is a bug in Joomla 1.6 that has to do with the component id in the database being wrong. I'm a true noob - both with Joomla and with MySql, so I'm not exactly sure how to do this, but apparently if you replace the id with the correct one it solves it.

If any one out there would care to explain how to do this, I would truly appreciate it.

Best,

A.
mardulia
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:43 pm

Re: Error building Admin Menus

Postby guilleva » Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:52 am

Hi, please try the following:

- Uninstall the component (Xmap)
- Execute the following SQL queries using your favorite SQL cliente, just make sure you are using the correct database :D and replace jos_ with your table prefix if it's different:

delete from jos_assets where name='com_xmap';
delete from jos_extensions where element='com_xmap';
delete from jos_menu where link = 'index.php?option=com_xmap';

- Try to install it again.


Hopefully that will do the trick.
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Error building Admin Menus

Postby wicko » Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:58 am

Guilleva's solution worked for me using Joomla 1.7.
Great stuff
http://www.wicko.co.uk http://www.wickodesign.com http://www.proficiencypost.com http://www.hitdesires.com
User avatar
wicko
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 11:14 am
Location: UK

Re: Error building Admin Menus

Postby dissenybcn » Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:27 pm

Hello guilleva,
I followed the instructions and I deleted the information from the database.
I installed the component again and gave me error, but no links have been installed in Joomla!
Attachments
xmap3.jpg
xmap2.jpg
dissenybcn
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:42 pm

Re: Error building Admin Menus

Postby guilleva » Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:56 pm

Hi, I don't know what else can you do, there is a known bug with Joomla, I think it happens when a extension installation failed, then you start to get that error installing other components. You can read more here and maybe try what they suggests:
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?p=2406137
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re: Error building Admin Menus

Postby djmarya » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:10 pm

I encountered this same issue this morning. What I think was the cause was I attempted to install the incorrect version of the component (in this case it was xmap). When I tried to install the correct version for Joomla 2.5 I received the same error: Another menu item with the same parent has this alias Error building Admin Menus
So I did the following:
1. I uninstalled the component via Joomla extension manager
2. Using my hosting control panel I used file manager and removed everything xmap
3. I then used PHPMyadmin and removed everything xmap from the database

I then attempted to install the correct version again and it worked. In this case the attempt to install a component from a previous version of Joomla is what caused my issue. Hope this helps!
djmarya
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:34 pm


Return to Bugs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron