Sunday, 20 April 2014 21:03
beggarly

newbie question

An open forum for opinions and general questions

newbie question

Postby Marshall » Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:16 am

sorry i just installed Xmap now
& i want to know how to start
if anyone can tell me please whats the link for the Xmap link so i can add it in my account on google webmaster tools

thank you
Marshall
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:08 am

Re:newbie question

Postby Marshall » Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:26 am

hmm i can see the map but i still cant add the link for google webmaster tools
gave me that error "http://ultrasahlawy.com/
Example: http://ultrasahlawy.com/sitemap.xml
The Sitemap must be located at http://ultrasahlawy.com/. To add a Sitemap at http://ultrasahlawy.com/http://ultrasahlawy.com/, first add that site to your account and then click the Add a Sitemap link beside it."


also i couldn't install the Xmap plugins as site mambots so how can i install it? i dont see a plugins manager inside Xmap to do that with it


last thing on Xmap page it doesn't show the menus with sub-menus so can i know why is that?


sorry for the too much questions but really my 1st use of Xmap :/
Last edited by Marshall on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 65535 times in total.
Reason: 1
Marshall
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:08 am

Re:newbie question

Postby guilleva » Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:29 am

Hi, you can start adding the menus you want to be displayed in your sitemap. Then you can take a look at the preferences of the sitemap. There you can choose a few options. Also, in the sitemap preference you can see the link to the XML sitemap you need to send to Google.

Note, you can also send this link to Yahoo.

If you have others components installed on your site, maybe you can take a look to our downloads section to see if there is a plugin available for it, if not, then you can ask for it in our forum. To install plugins please take a look at [url=http://joomla.vargas.co.cr/index.php?option=com_fireboard&Itemid=10&func=view&id=5&catid=4:88cacad4]this thread[/url:88cacad4]
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re:newbie question

Postby Marshall » Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:31 am

ok great :)
thanks
now google map & plugins thing is sorted

what about the sub-menus pages? why its not showen?

thanks guilleva for the fast reply ;)
Marshall
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:08 am

Re:newbie question

Postby Marshall » Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:39 am

hmmm map gives me errors

http://ultrasahlawy.com/index.php?option=com_xmap&sitemap=1&view=xml&no_html=1

XML Parsing Error: no element found
Location: http://ultrasahlawy.com/index.php?option=com_xmap&sitemap=1&view=xml&no_html=1
Line Number 1, Column 1:
Marshall
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:08 am

Re:newbie question

Postby guilleva » Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:46 am

Hi, had you enabled the options "expand section" and "expand categories"?he
If you want the sections and categories to be showed in your sitemap, then you need to add to the menu items linked to those sections or categories.

To expand the structure of your forum you need to install the fireboard plugin. Also you may be interested on zOOm and Seyret plugins.

;)
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re:newbie question

Postby Marshall » Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:57 am

oh ok
yes i already installed the those 3 plugins ;)
do i need to do anything for them to work right? or just add them in the menus? ;)
Marshall
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:08 am

Re:newbie question

Postby guilleva » Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:00 am

Yes, you only need a link to the components on your menus and put the plugins into the /administrator/components/com_xmap/plugins directory
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Re:newbie question

Postby Marshall » Mon Sep 24, 2007 5:10 am

yes i enabled the options "expand section" and "expand categories"

& uploaded plugins on /administrator/components/com_xmap/plugins directory

but sorry i think i dont understand the _link_ that much
i added topmenu "thats where i have all my pages"
i noticed i 1st added pages in the "Exclude Menu IDs" now i removed them & map is gone :S
Marshall
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:08 am

Re:newbie question

Postby guilleva » Mon Sep 24, 2007 12:38 pm

I don't see any section or category link on your sitemap. If you want to show on your sitemap other menus, you need to add those menus to your sitemap.

And what you mean with "map is gone"?
User avatar
guilleva
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1527
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:10 am
Location: San José, Costa Rica

Next

Return to General



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron