Miércoles, 26 Noviembre 2014 23:09

beggarly

Feature request: smart Introtext elipsis...

Feature request: smart Introtext elipsis...

Postby wwebb » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:17 pm

Hello,

Will you please add an option to ONLY add the elipsis at the end of Introtext IF THE INTROTEXT MUST BE TRUNCATED because it is longer than the Introtext Limit?

It looks bad to have my full Introtext ending in a period, with elipsis after the period! I have temporarily hacked your truncate function in help.php on my site, to remove appending the eplipsis character in the return statement.

Thanks,
---wwebb
wwebb
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:40 pm

Re: Feature request: smart Introtext elipsis...

Postby chus » Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:27 pm

Hi,

That's the way the introtext should be handled. I hadn't noticed the elipsis was been added regardlessly, and I thank you for poiting it out. I have updated the package with the fix now.

Cheers!
User avatar
chus
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:21 am
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Feature request: smart Introtext elipsis...

Postby wwebb » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:59 pm

Chus,

Thanks for your module update!

My simple testing on the few test Articles I have found the truncate worked as expected/intended.

I note that you took a very different approach in coding your truncate() function in help.php, and I don't know more than the simple shorter vs. longer IntroText boundary conditions to test, so I'll keep an eye on how it behaves with my future articles, and what feedback others may provide.

Thanks,
---wwebb
wwebb
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:40 pm


Return to Featured Categories



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron