Viernes, 31 Octubre 2014 17:07
beggarly

Xmap and multilinguage

Report Xmap bugs on this forum.

Xmap and multilinguage

Postby Utopia » Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:31 pm

Hi,
i have used the "System - Language Filter" and "System - Language Code" plugins on my website to handle the multilingual support.
But the sitemap generated only gets the en menu, the it menus are missing and i can't understand the reason.
Any suggestion?
Utopia
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:21 pm

Re: Xmap and multilinguage

Postby Richard67 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 7:25 am

Hi,

I have a multilingual site with 3 languages and have no such problem.

In the sitemap definition I have selected all 3 menus.

The sitemap shows me then only the menu of the currently acive site language.

So if your backend language is English you will see from there only the Englis sitemap, but if you go on your site and then change current language to Italian with the language switcher and then call the sitemap url in the browser, you will see the Italian sitemap.

So you have to submitt one sitemap URL for each language to Search engines.

Another thing may also be confusing when you check the sitemap from backend or when being logged in as registered user: It then also contains content which is not available to public but to registered users.

But don't worry: The search engine does not log in and so will get only the version for public, which you can very by calling the sitemap URL in your browser when being logged off.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,

Richard
Richard67
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 7:16 am


Return to Bugs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron