Lunes, 28 Julio 2014 06:15
beggarly

XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Suggest/Comment/Post new extensions for Xmap!

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby bojanpopic » Mon Nov 15, 2010 4:20 pm

Hello Bojanpopic,

I have downloaded the plugin from your page.
However, the package doesn't seem complete.
Only the xml file is provided.
Am I missing something ?

Regards,
Antoine


No, your not. But I missed sleep when I packed latest version so I accidentally packed xml and index file of that page, rather then xml and php file. Sorry for that, now I packed right files. Be sure to clean your browser cache if you still getting old version.

Sorry again and good luck using it!

I would appreciate if you report to me if its working and with what version of zoo. Thank you in advance!
bojanpopic
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:04 am

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby toinus » Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:48 am

Hello Bojanpopic,

The plugin works as described with Zoo 2.2.3 !
Did you found any solution to deal with the link duplication yet ?

A new feature has been developed by the zoo team to define a 'master' category the item belongs to. They use this parameter to define the canonical url of each item.

Couldn't we use this too, to clean the Xmap URL list ?

Best regards,
Antoine
toinus
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:09 pm

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby bojanpopic » Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:51 am

First of all, thank you for testing and using plugin!

Second, there is no duplicate item issue. If you follow instructions how to set up your map (with one menu item pointing to frontpage and excluding all menu item pointing to categories) you will end up with only one entry per item.

I didn't have chance to work with zoo 2.2.3 and didn't get that "master" category feature. Must I set master category to every item? Or it's just an option? If it's just an option, then we cannot use it.

Try to do that with menus and see if it works. You have instructions inside php file.

Cheers!
bojanpopic
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:04 am

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby toinus » Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:02 pm

Thank you for your fast reply,

I'll have a deeper look into the solution you suggest. But I think it may interfere with the canonical links set by Zoo from version 2.1.

However, since the 'master' category (actually called 'primary category') is mandatory (selected automatically, can be modified manually then), maybe there is something to do with it !

Regards,
Antoine
toinus
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:09 pm

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby bojanpopic » Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:53 pm

Hi!

I will look deeper into that when I catch some time. I cannot promise anything since currently I'm working on something that's not related to zoo. But as soon as possible, I will look at it. When I do something I will post notice in this topic so make sure you subscribe to it!

Regards,
Bojan
bojanpopic
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:04 am

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby toinus » Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:51 pm

Thank you Bojan !
I have subscribed already ;)

Best regards,
Antoine
toinus
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:09 pm

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby mikec@2gen.net » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:01 pm

I'm having some trouble with the plugin. It's displaying the categories and items without a tree structure. So I have the link to the zoo homepage and all the categories and products are nested under that without and indication as to which items belong to categories.

Code: Select all
Our Products
    Category
    Category
    Category
    Item
    Item
    Item


Is this something to do with the priority of the items?
mikec@2gen.net
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby bojanpopic » Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:38 am

You cannot make tree like structure with multicategory CCK like ZOO. You will end ups with many, many duplicates. For example if item1 is in cat1, cat2, cat3 under witch category should it be? One of them? Which one? Under all of them? Than you will be listing one single item 3 times. So, for now, you can just list categories and items separately.

I know there is "primary category" in new version of zoo but this is plugin for zoo 2.01. When I catch time to update it, I will. Subscribe to this post to be noticed. And also if you want, you can update it yourself, it's open source ;)

Best wishes,

Bojan
bojanpopic
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:04 am

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby bojanpopic » Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:29 pm

There were bug in SQL code responsible for fetching items, namely I didn't use #_ as table prefix, but jos_. Now it's changed and you can find latest version on http://www.bojanpopic.com/xmap/. If you use jos_ as table prefix, everything should work fine, no need to switch to new version.

Thanks thibaut.lauziere for finding this bug!
bojanpopic
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:04 am

Re: XMAP Zoo 2.01 plugin

Postby vostokoved » Sun Feb 06, 2011 8:51 am

Hello guys!

Thank you for your plugin!
Everything works fine.
I have a question.

I've created the menu item linked to the frontpage. The alias is "zooitems (or whatever)".
Now I see the exact number of my zoo items (no duplications).

But all of them are linked in xml map as
http://sitename.com/zooitems/item/itemname

The question is - does it affect the way google is going to build the path of my site items and display them in the search results.

Or this is just for the purpose of indexation, not the way, the links are going to be displayed in the search results.

Thanks
vostokoved
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 8:45 am

PreviousNext

Return to Plugins



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest